13th May 2015 – A quick visit to Notting Hill

I was able to get a little visit into Music & Video Exchange in Notting Hill and had time to had a rummage through their bargain basement. I was pretty pleased to leave with a fair few goodies, not all for me which is nice as well.

First up was a Monkees – Best Of LP from 1974 – which is for my girlfriend’s Dad. Featuring all the classics as well like “Daydream Believer”, “The Monkees Theme”, “I’m A Believer” and “Last Train To Clarksville”. Only a quid as well, bloody bargain stuff right there! I know Discogs has it for under a quid but with postage, this was too good to leave behind that’s for sure.

themonkees-bestof-LP

I then had a little flick through the 12” singles and managed to grab a few little beauties as well. A Beth Orton one sided promo for “Anywhere” but with it being a teknodub remix, it’s likely to be one of those that I sell on. But it was only 50p, so not a bad one to take a punt on.

bethorton-anywhere-promoI then picked up a promo white label 12” of “I Begin To Wonder” by Dannii Minogue. Turns out whoever wrote the label is a bit of a fool and spelled it as Dannie – ha ha. But again a classic pop song and only £1 for this promo, had to be had really.

danniiminogue-ibegintowonder-12promoI then found a 12” promo from a band called Natural Life. Now I quite enjoyed this alternative rock song when it came out many years ago. I have the 7” from back then, but the promo was only 10p, so it seemed a shame not to add it to the pile.

naturallife-naturallife-12promo

I then had a flick through the 10p 7” single section and picked up a few for myself. One by The Wonder Stuff and another by Pop Will Eat Itself. Not sure if I actually already have either, but for 10p it’s worth the punt, can always sell them on once I’ve checked the collection.

thewonderstuff-whowantstobethediscoking-7

popwilleatitself-xyandzee-7I also picked up a copy of Verses – an NME flexi disc from 1994 by Manic Street Preachers. Which I have already sold on for £1. So that covers the pile of 7” singles I picked up.

mancis-verses-nmeflexi7Other good finds were a couple of compilations, one with Faith No More on and another that housed Dinosaur Jr, The Pixies, The Mission and Throwing Muses. Again they must be able to sell on for more than the 10p asking price.

various-thesoundsmachine-ep1various-sounds-waves2I found a single by Brilliant as well, I have it on 10” picture disc and 12” already so I know it’s a good one.

brillaint-itsamansworld7And then it was time to just pick a few that I know nothing about, just to check out and 10p isn’t much to squabble over. I picked up singles by Dog Hunch, I Monster, Bombpop and Brian And The Teenagers. Just to check out and see if there are any gems in that bunch.

doghunch-st-7brianandtheteenagers-digital7imonster-frenchmodscantdrink-7bombpop-selftitled7Very happy with that haul indeed.vinyl130515

Total Records: 14 Total Spend: £3.60

And of course, the No Parlez rating needs to be addressed as we have a new record! Even if they were £3/£4 a pop!

No Parlez Score: 6

 

13th May 2015 – A quick visit to Notting Hill

Leave a Reply

